Intellisense Code Snippets

21. October 2010

Every now and then, when I`m programming at home I deeply miss some features which I`m used to at work! What comes first to my mind is R# ReSharper by JetBrains, but Id on`t have a license at home.
I often use the built-in code snippets for all kinds of tasks, which I miss at home, so today I played around with <strong>Intellisense Code Snippets</strong>! It`s really easy to write custom code snippets which faciliate your work.

So I wrote a snippet for generating public properties surrounded with regions. Here it is…

Sorry about the image. Got some issues with the code-snippet plugin in Live-Writer.

If you look at the code, it should be self explaining. Nothing too difficult there. All you have to do is to copy the *.snippet file to the appropiate folder, e.g. <em>\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC#\Snippets\1033\Visual C#\</em>

I named my snipped “biprop.snippet”, in the code editor within VS2010 you can now simply type biprop + TAB and the code is generated for you.

Leave a Reply

